Posted by: Eating The Road | December 3, 2009

Hoover’s Cooking & Catering

Hoover’s Cooking & Catering
Address: 2002 Manor Road, Austin, TX 78722
Phone: (512) 479-0889
Website: www.hooverscooking.com
Known For: Meat & Three
What I had: Fried Catfish, French Fries and Macaroni & Cheese
Price: $10.71
Rating: 9.5 out of 10

I was really looking forward to their Meats & Three but on Sundays they don’t offer them. I was a little disappointed at first but I was going to get the fried catfish and it is on the standard menu anyways. The only difference was I’d only get two sides. Turns out this was not a problem, the portions were huge, Texas sized if you will (I find this a recurring theme ’round these parts). I couldn’t decide on the sides because they had so many that looked amazing, after trying the Cajun Coleslaw and the Garlic Grits (both good) I ended up going with the French Fries and Mac & Cheese (my staples).

Every single thing that I put in my mouth here was tremendous. The only thing I wish was that I had a bigger stomach, because they give you so much food. I saw everyone leaving the restaurant with doggy bags as I entered and I thought it was strange…now I understand.

First my waiter brought me a great jalapeno cornbread and the most amazing sweet potato roll, straight from the oven. Either of these with butter and honey was sensational. The mac & cheese was one of the best I’ve ever had, the pasta was perfect and the cheese was fantastic, one thing that was great was that it was not overly salty which is very typical of mac & cheese. The french fries were also amazing, cooked perfectly. The catfish was awesome. I haven’t tried fried catfish much, maybe not ever, but this was really good. I asked for some of their BBQ sauce and the waiter brought me their Jerk BBQ Sauce, make sure you do the same, it’s amazing and went well with the catfish. The food here is of the utmost quality and freshness. You can tell Hoover (his actual name) loves cooking for people and instills this in his kitchen.

My waiter was one of the best waiters I’ve ever had. He loved the food and continued to talk to me about it. He told me all his recommendations and favorites. He was extremely polite and accommodating. The place itself was full of families and people just having a great time. It was very clean as well. I highly highly recommend anyone that is within 1000 miles of Hoover’s give it a shot. It was mind blowingly good across the charts.

Mac & Cheese

Mac & Cheese

French Fries

French Fries

Catfish, Fries and Mac & Cheese

Catfish, Fries and Mac & Cheese

Hoover Alexander on his cooking and restaurant:

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/506/hoovers-cooking
www.yelp.com/biz/hoovers-cooking-austin

Sep 6, 2009 @ 17:20


Responses

  1. Mmm…Hoovers…

    • 🙂 Yes…..it is that good!


Leave a comment

Categories