Posted by: Eating The Road | December 4, 2009

Round Rock Donut Famous Lone Star Bakery

Round Rock Donut Famous Lone Star Bakery
Address: 106 W Liberty Street, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone: (512) 255-3629
Website: www.roundrockdonuts.com
Known For: Donuts
What I had: Round Rock Glazed, Apple Fritter, Fried Cinnamon Donut, Chocolate Cake, Donut Holes & Coffee.
Price: $4.12
Rating: 5 out of 10

Well the last donut I had was at Randy’s Donuts in Los Angeles and that was one of the best things I’d ever put in my mouth, so Round Rock had a lot to compete with. I was kind of thinking  that they might be able to do that though, I’d only heard amazing things about them. You may have seen their head-size donuts on Travel Channel’s Man v Food.

Man v Food

Man v Food

I got there really early (they open at 4 AM) and there were a couple customers. The staff was really bright and cheerful considering the time of day…even the sun hadn’t woken up yet. I wanted to sample a bit of all they had so I got their famous Round Rock Glazed, an apple fritter, a Fried Cinnamon donut, a chocolate cake  and some donut holes .

Certainly the highlight was the Round Rock Glazed, it was actually really good, on it’s own I would give it a 9 out of 10, warm and soft, delicious. It melts in your mouth. The apple fritter was really good too. It’s different than I’m used to for apple fritters, much smaller and thinner but I like that. It was sort of chewy which I enjoyed too. The Fried Cinnamon donut was very poor, it didn’t taste like much of anything and same goes for the chocolate cake donut. The donut holes were good, they were just what you’d expect.

I had asked the counter person if their display had everything they had to offer and she said yes. Sadly I found out later that they had cinnamon rolls that weren’t in the display and I didn’t get to try those. I found this out leaving as they were coming fresh and hot from the back, so sad was I.

Overall there is nothing too special here that you wouldn’t be able to get at your local Dunkin’ Donuts and probably much better. The only thing I would go out of my way for would be the Round Rock Glazed, I’d just as much only order that next time. I would say this is not something to go out of your way for. I’m sure you can find tons of tasty treats on your way out here. Sorry Round Rock, you just didn’t live up to the hype for me.

Round Rock Glazed

Round Rock Glazed

Box of Doughnuts

Box of Doughnuts

Apple Fritter, Glazed, Chocolate Cake

Apple Fritter, Glazed, Chocolate Cake

Featured on the Travel Channel

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/5571/round-rock-donuts
www.yelp.com/biz/round-rock-donuts-round-rock-3
www.facebook.com/roundrockdonuts
www.texashighways.com/rock-donuts–the-hole-story

Sep 7, 2009 @ 6:30


Responses

  1. The Round Rock Glazed is a real winner–I don’t think I ever even bothered with other varieties.


Leave a Reply

Categories

