Posted by: Eating The Road | October 24, 2009

Fidel’s Little Mexico

Fidel’s Little Mexico
Address: 749 Genevieve St, Solana Beach, CA‎ 92075
Phone: (858) 755-5292‎
Website: www.fidelslittlemexico.com
Known For: Fish Tacos
What I had: Fish Tacos (Mahi Mahi Grilled & Fried) & Tortilla Chips
Price: $8.60
Rating: 9 out of 10
9plates

This place has an upstairs bar and a restaurant downstairs. As I was eating alone I opted for the bar but found out that they only serve the full menu Mon-Thur, seeing that it was Friday I didn’t have all the options…but turns out it was okay because what I came for, the fish tacos, was on the bar menu, score.

Hot tortilla chips and salsa came quickly. These were great, I actually really enjoyed the salsa, it was milder than I normally prefer but surprisingly tasty. Both seemed to be made fresh on the spot which is a must with any good Mexican food joint.

The fish tacos were amazing. As to date these were the best fish tacos I’ve ever had. They offer both a fried mahi mahi and a grilled mahi mahi served in your typical corn tortilla. They come with a delicious (mayonnaise-based?) sauce and fresh shredded cabbage. Both were delicious but the fried one was just that much better. The fish was extremely fresh and cooked superbly. The batter was crispy with the fish being buttery soft inside. It also was not greasy at all. I would certainly go out of my way for a few more of these.

The atmosphere here is great. It’s really got that Southern California vibe but not in a pretentious way, it’s mixed well with a Mexican feel. You’ll find a wide array of patrons from the younger crowd at the bar to families in the restaurant. They also have a Mariachi band that plays occasionally, which I actually enjoy (I know they’re not for everyone). There menu covers all your favorite Mexican dishes and from what I hear a great mole. They also have a huge margaritas list. I highly recommend Fidel’s if you’re in the mood for some good Mexican, seafood and ambiance.

Tortilla Chips

Tortilla Chips

Fried Mahi Mahi Taco

Fried Mahi Mahi Taco

Grilled Mahi Mahi Taco

Grilled Mahi Mahi Taco

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/fidels-solana-beach
www.blog.discoversd.com/san-diego-restaurant-blog
www.books.google.com

Aug 28, 2009 @ 17:12


Responses

  1. The Fish Taco does look very yummy I wish I could try one!

  2. […] no surprise that the most celebrated authentic Mexican restaurant is found right here in Solana. Fidel’s Little Mexico actually started as a barbershop run my Mexican-American immigrants in the late ’90s, and […]


Leave a comment

Categories