Posted by: Eating The Road | October 23, 2009

Hodad’s

Hodad’s
Address: 5010 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA‎ 92107
Phone: (619) 224-4623‎
Website: www.hodadies.com
Known For: Burgers
What I had: Cheeseburger (with Onions, Ketchup, Mayo, Mustard, Lettuce & Tomato) & French Fries
Price: $6.75
Rating: 8.5 out of 10
85plates

Hodad’s can be found included in a lot of “Best Burger” lists. They’ve made CNN’s, San Diego ABC’s, San Diego NBC’s & Jane & Micheal Stern’s (just to name a few). So you can imagine that there will be a wait for a burger and hopefully there will be good reason for that wait.

When I arrived at 11:00 AM there was a huge line out front and I was terrified. It opens at 11:00 and I wasn’t planning on eating until a little later, I figured at this rate if I waited it’d be another hour after that before I’d get fed. Turns out this was just the door busting crowd and once they opened there was no line, whew, but the whole place filled up instantly. Luckily I followed the crowd and piled in when they pulled back the shutters.

I was able to get my order in quickly but because every seat in the restaurant had a butt in it, it still took some time to get my food. All burgers are served with with onions, ketchup, mayo, mustard, lettuce, tomato and pickle unless requested differently. The only thing I opted not to have were the pickles.

They are self-proclaimed to be serving the “World’s Best Burger” since 1969, that is quite a claim to live up to. I must say that it was extremely good but I don’t know if I would call it the “World’s Best”. It’s up there, don’t get me wrong, but I know there is better out there.  The beef is extremely fresh…it tastes as if they bought it from the butcher just hours earlier, and they just may have. It was cooked perfectly, seasoned well and quite juicy. All the toppings were terrific and fresh, as well as the right amounts. The American cheese oozed deliciously out the soft sesame seed bun. I didn’t get mine with bacon but I might recommend it to you. They have a unique way of doing it where they cook it almost like a patty and place that on top of the burger.

The fries actually surprised me a bit, these were exceptional. I would almost state that the fries were better than the burger…I think part of this being that the burger has quite a pedigree to live up to. They’re more of a wedge cut potato than french fry but they are now on the list as some of my favorite ever.

One of the things to come here for is the atmosphere alone. They have a “No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem” policy and it’s certainly your typical San Diego ideal hangout. The staff seem like a bunch of frat brothers and in all honesty they probably are. They were are cool guys and very helpful. They have surfboards and license plates hanging all over the walls.

I would definitely eat here if I lived in the area and I might even go out of my way but If there were too long of a wait I wouldn’t mind heading to an In-N-Out for a 2×2. Certainly if you haven’t had a Hodad’s burger you need to make it a must on your list. Personally my only regret was not ordering a shake and onion rings as well (I’ve heard both are outstanding)… so don’t make the same mistake I did.

Hodads

Hodad's

Dining Room

Dining Room

Cheeseburger & Fries

Cheeseburger & Fries

CheeseBurger

Cheeseburger

On Diners, Drive-ins & Dives

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/390/hodads
www.yelp.com/biz/hodads-san-diego

Aug 28, 2009 @ 11:04


Responses

  1. I just watched a piece on the Food Network about this place; Guy Fieri claims that their bacon cheeseburger is the best burger in the country.

  2. It was certainly a good burger. From what I gather their frings (1/2 onion rings, 1/2 fries), malts and shakes are the best. Unfortunately I didn’t try them. I’ll bet the bacon cheeseburger is even better than the burger I got. If you get a chance to try one let me know what you think.

  3. Japan always has some cool stuff, like the world’s largest burger 136kg!
    http://japansugoi.com/wordpress/japan-has-worlds-biggest-hamburger-136kg/


Leave a Reply

Categories

