Posted by: Eating The Road | November 5, 2009

Bobcat Bite

Bobcat Bite
Address: 420 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Santa Fe, NM‎ 87505
Phone: (505) 983-5319‎
Website: www.bobcatbite.com
Known For: Green Chile Cheeseburger
What I had: Green Chile Cheeseburger
Price: $8.40
Rating: 8.5 out of 10
85plates

I have heard so much about the famous Bobcat Bite Green Chile Cheesburger. It’s so famous in fact that the recently opened Bill’s Bar & Burger in New York has a burger on it’s menu called simply The Bobcat in homage. Don’t let that fool you though, you can not get a true green chile burger outside of the Southwest. This is a New Mexico, Santa Fe, and shall I say hamburger, institution.

More than anything the atmosphere and owners make this place. It is located south of town about 7 miles off of Old Las Vegas Highway. You won’t see it until you’ve come right up on it. The parking lot is a big dirt patch and the restaurant itself is a 500 square foot adobe “shack”. I say this but it’s a very pleasant and homey place. The husband and wife owners are adorable and are constantly checking in on everything.

Of course I had to get the Green Chile Cheeseburger. This is not something I would normally order but it’s what they’re known for so I figured I must. I’m glad I did because it was delicious. It was cooked perfectly, topped with green chile and a wonderful cheese (I’m actually not sure what it was, but I’m guessing Jack). The bun was soft and lightly grilled. It comes with potatoes chips but I wasn’t really in the mood for those, they seemed to be just a regular brand.

The burger was very good. The meat was extremely fresh and seasoned well, a nice big 9 ounce patty. The burger to bun to topping ratio was spot on. I had tomato, lettuce and onion on mine. I would say it certainly stands out as one of the better burgers but the thing that really sets this place apart as I mentioned was the experience in itself. I would absolutely eat here again.

If you are within anywhere near 1000 miles of the good ol’ Bobcat please make a detour and stop in for lunch (they are closed Sunday through Tuesday during the winter). You certainly feel like you’re part of a fraternity after having eaten here. A customer next to me ordered a Green Chilie Cheeseburger with a garlic toast in place of the regular bun….that looked phenomenal and will be what I’m getting next time through….and there will be a next time!

Bobcat Bite

Bobcat Bite

Green Chile Cheeseburger

Green Chile Cheeseburger

Stacked Green Chile Cheeseburger

Stacked Green Chile Cheeseburger

Featured in the documentary Hamburger America by George Motz:

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/1385/bobcat-bite
www.yelp.com/biz/bobcat-bite-santa-fe
www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobcat_Bite

Sep 1, 2009 @ 11:30


Responses

  1. In 2007, the Food Network and Bon Appetit magazine proclaimed the Bobcat Bite’s green chile cheeseburger the very best burger in America.

    Despite the lavish praise you gave the Bobcat Bite’s green chile cheeseburger, I get the impression you liked the Standard’s burger better. I must admit to not ever having had that particular burger so you’ve given me an excuse (not that one should be needed) to go there for lunch.

  2. Gil,

    Yes, I do really like the Bobcat Bite’s burger and it is the best green chile burger I’ve had…but absolutely the Standard Diner is the best overall burger I’ve ever eaten. I do wish you try and please tell me what you think!

  3. I’ll stand by my comment on my blog piratedogspilgrims.blogspot.com
    that The Owl in San Antonio NM is the BEST green chile cheeseburger. bobcat Bites is in the top 5 but no way is it numero uno.

  4. Bill,

    I’ve yet to try The Owl’s. I know the there are better green chile burgers than Bobcat’s out there but I haven’t had too many. I would certainly heed your opinion on it 🙂

  5. I thought that the burger I got there was ok, but I have to say the the best green chile cheeseburger by far is from La Casa Sena (near the Plaza). It is a little pricier, but totally worth it.

    • I haven’t even heard that as a recommendation, I’ll have to give it a try next time I’m there.

  6. Sorry to burst your bubbles. While Bobcat Bites is very good, as is the Standard THE very best green chili cheeseburger is at Manny’s Buckhorn Tavern in San Antonio, New Mexico – across the street from the grossly overrated Owl Cafe. There are several franchises of the Owl Cafe in Albuquerque and they’re even worse than the parent.

    • You know…I really really wanted to try the Buckhorns but I didn’t get a chance. Now you’re making me regret it more.


Leave a comment

Categories