Posted by: Eating The Road | December 16, 2009

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store
Address: 5390 Walden Road, Beaumont, TX 77705
Phone: (409) 842-5420‎
Website: www.www.crackerbarrel.com
Known For: Southern Cooking
What I had: Breakfast Special (Yogurt, Grapes, Apple, Granola, Apple Bran Muffin, Biscuits & Gravy)
Price: $7.57
Rating: 8 out of 10

I know this isn’t my typical off-the-radar review, and I typically try never to eat in a chain but when you’re in BFE and it’s 6AM sometimes you have to stop where you can.

“Eat, shop, relax.” is Cracker Barrel’s slogan and it’s pretty accurate. I know many people may poo poo CBOCS but there is a reason they are so popular.They know how to do what they do and they do it well. Who doesn’t enjoy sitting on the porch on the rocking chair? Or looking through their store and loading up a bag with Chick-O-Sticks or Sky Bars!

Overall this was a great light breakfast for a good price. I was pleasantly surprised by Cracker Barrel. If you’ve ever been you know that for anywhere from $5 – $10 you can get huge amounts of pretty good food. They had a few limited time breakfasts and one the one which I ordered. It actually comes with 2 eggs and 2 bacon strips but I asked if I could get the biscuits and gravy instead and she allowed that.

The biscuits in all honesty were amazing, probably the best biscuits I’ve had recently. It’s hard to say this because they’re a chain restaurant but they were that good. The gravy lacked seasoning but once I salt & peppered it myself it was pretty good. The apple and grapes were fresh. The yogurt was good. The granola was actually really good. The apple bran muffin was fantastic and I love bran muffins. I had a great breakfast, quick, cheap and tasty overall.

I see now why people continue to flock here. They do what they do and they do it good. The staff was amazingly quick and friendly even at 6 AM. Seriously, if you want a darned good breakfast at a darned good price step into your local Cracker Barrel (it’ll be just off the interstate).

Seasonal Breakfast Special

Seasonal Breakfast Special

Biscuits & Gravy

Biscuits & Gravy

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Commercials

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/cracker-barrel-old-country-store-beaumont

Sep 9, 2009 @ 6:30


Responses

  1. It’s been a few years, but I remember Rao’s Bakery in Beaumont as being excellent.

  2. I’m sure it’s been resolved, but in high school, one of our teachers told my best friend and me that Cracker Barrel didn’t hire gays. (No idea why this would come up in school, but we were in Ohio, so anything goes.) We used to think the greatest slogan ever for them would be “good country cookin’–and no gays!”, but they sadly never adopted it.

    Cracker Barrel is also great because they have a low-carb menu, which was really useful for all of us Midwesterners who planned to move to NYC and become movie stars.

    • Ha…yeah, I’m not sure that would be the best marketing.

      When do you get that movie role?🙂 You don’t need to stickin’ low-carb menu…you’re name is donuts4dinner for crying out loud girl.

      • I did get the movie role! . . . kinda. I was an extra in Julie and Julia! You saw my face for approximately two seconds! It was amazing!

        I was also in a couple of episodes of “Lipstick Jungle”, which has since been canceled, likely because I was always looking at the camera when I wasn’t supposed to be.

        Toooooootally famous.

      • Haha🙂 That’s great! Which part are you in Jule and Julia…I’ll look for you.

      • It’s pretty hard to find me, but there’s a scene where Julia’s at an embassy party and is putting on lipstick in a bathroom when she meets the two women she’ll eventually write her book with. In the next scene, they walk into the party, and just as they reach the doorway, I walk past them. I turn my head the tiiiiiiiiiiniest bit toward the camera to ensure that my whole family will scream, “I know her!” when they see the movie. And they do.

      • 🙂 Haha…that is SO awesome. How many auditions do you go to a month?

      • Oh, I don’t. The Julie and Julia thing was a total accident; I was looking randomly for jobs on craigslist and saw the ad for French-looking people with short haircuts. I sent the casting agency my picture as a joke, but they actually called me for some reason. And then they called me again for “Lipstick Jungle”.

        Being an extra is really easy and pays really well, but I like my desk job and my regular bathroom breaks too much to give it a real try, ifyouknowwhatImean.

      • Haha…that’s awesome!🙂

        If you don’t mind me asking…what’s the day pay for an extra? Any good stories from the set?

  3. While I agree that Cracker Barrel has decent food, I have been avoiding Cracker Barrel because of their discriminatory employment practices…They just don’t seem to learn vis-a-vis their many, many lawsuits…

    I guess I am just intolerant of intolerance and ignorance…

    • Oh man…I though that had been resolved somewhat…are they still that bad?


Leave a Reply

Categories

