Posted by: Eating The Road | December 9, 2009

Lulu’s Bakery

Lulu’s Bakery
Address: 918 N Main Ave, San Antonio, TX 78212
Phone: (210) 222-9422
Website: www.luluscafeinsa.com
Known For: Chicken Fried Steak & Huge Cinnamon Roll
What I had: Chicken Fried Steak, Corn, French Fries, Onion Rings & Dinner Roll
Price: $10.72
Rating: 8 out of 10

This trip started off poorly. The address I had was wrong, apparently it was their old location. After asking several people I finally tracked it down. I was not going to let a minor setback keep me from the “best chicken fried steak” and those huge cinnamon rolls. I was amazingly excited when I eventually got there. Within seconds my excitement abated however, there was a note on the front door informing the patrons that their famous cinnamon rolls had sold out and would not be ready until 9 PM, it was currently 5 PM. Oh well, at least I could still get their chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes. Turns out they were 86ed on mashed potatoes too….and t-bones. Wow, looks like they really are popular.

Rightfully so, front and center on their menu was a quote from Adam Richman (of Man v Food fame) about how friendly their staff is because it’s absolutely true. They made my visit worthwhile even with all the setbacks. We fashioned our own cinnamon roll (with a dinner roll and leftover icing), substituted onion rings for the mashed potatoes and they even, in the end, actually got the mashed potatoes back into production so I got to try those too.

The chicken fried steak was outstanding and there is good reason they are known for it. The batter (coating?) was fantastic. The seasoning was nice and peppery, and the steak was cooked perfectly. The gravy was great, only thing is I should have asked for a side of brown gravy too because I tried that later with the mashed potatoes and it was almost better than the white gravy. I would get both. The mashed potatoes were phenomenal. They weren’t your traditional taters though, they were not quite as mashed as you’d normally get at a diner and I loved it. The french fries were pretty good but the onion rings were too much. I rarely don’t finish off my onion rings but I ended up with most of these still on the plate. They were too greasy and too much batter, not nearly enough onions.

Overall the food was good, sort of a hit or miss on certain things. The portions were huge (and I mean huge). I finished about half of everything, it was hard however to leave the tasty food on the plate. The staff was over the top awesome. So friendly, so nice, so helpful, they really were the best staff I’ve come across as a whole. I may just have to come back just to get a taste of that cinnamon roll.

Update: Okay….I went back for the cinnamon roll. Oh my goodness was that ever worth it or what. It was outstanding! You’d would think that something that big (3 lbs!!!) would suffer quality but I’m here to tell you that isn’t the case. It was literally bigger than my head, I’m not sure the pictures do it justice. The thing was exceptional. It melts in your mouth. Fresh from the oven this thing was amazing, filled with cinnamon, butter and icing…chewy and warm. Yes you’ve had a cinnamon roll before but never had you had one this big and this tasty. I highly recommend you get yourself out here and experience the love that is a Lulu’s cinnamon roll.

Chicken Fried Steak, Corn and French Fries

Chicken Fried Steak, Corn and French Fries

Onion Rings

Onion Rings

Cinnamon Roll Close-Up

Cinnamon Roll Close-Up

The Cinnamon Roll

The Cinnamon Roll

Another Shot of the Cinnamon Roll

Another Shot of the Cinnamon Roll

Featured on the local news

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/lulus-bakery-and-cafe-san-antonio

Sep 7, 2009 @ 17:15


Responses

  1. I want that cinnamon roll!!

    I think I put on half a pound just looking at it.

    • Haha…it was SO good and SO big. I’d take one right now if I could.

  2. I ordered a cinnamon roll for a friend and when I was delivered it was smashed on one side and the container of icing that they placed in the box had the lid off and the icing was all over the place. I was so disappointed, especially after payng for shipping and MISHANDLING.

  3. Yup. That cinnamon roll was awesome. We were still eating it 2 days later!

  4. Hi🙂

    I run a pop culture blog and I’m writing about Man Vs Food and I would love to include one of your cinnamon roll photos – with a link back and credit to this blog.

    Would this be ok?

    Love the concept of this blog – I would love to be able to eat at half these places. Shame the commute from Australia to the US is a little more than I can handle at the moment.😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

