Posted by: Eating The Road | November 24, 2009

Keller’s Drive-In

Keller’s Drive-In
Address: 6537 E Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX 75231
Phone: (214) 368-1209
Website: N/A
Known For: Burgers
What I had: Special No. 5 with Grilled Onions & Tater Tots
Price: $4.68
Rating: 8.5 out of 10

I’m having a hard time remembering how I first heard about Keller’s Drive-In but thank you to whomever mention it. This place is awesome. It’s a good ol’ American Car Hop, matter of fact there aren’t even tables here. I think they may have a few benches somewhere but I didn’t actually see them. They bring your food on a car tray and you’ve got no other choice but to eat it that way.  I tried to walk up and they acted strange and a little uncertain on how to handle me. There is no place to order at the building, the car hop comes to you. You’ll see people eating it like Fred Flintstone from within the car or some place the tray on their trunk or hood adopting a more picnic-style dining experience (this is how I decided to eat).

They’ve got burgers, hot dogs, corndogs, french fries, tater tots & onion rings, and they’re ridiculously cheap. You can add bacon, cheese, patties, chili, etc. all for around $.50 each. You really could make any sort of burger that your tummy desires.

I ordered their “Special No. 5” which is a double cheeseburger, with tomato, lettuce and their special sauce. Funny thing is there are not really other “No.”s, I think maybe there is a No. 8 but that’s it. I also got grilled onions which come free with any burger.

It was a fantastic burger, the meat was nice. It was two good old griddled patties and very fresh tasting. Obviously nothing frozen here.  The produce was extremely fresh. The special sauce was good, just your typical blend of various condiments (mayo, ketchup, mustard, etc). Now that poppy seed bun was awesome. I love a good squishy, fluffy bun and this was just that. I also hate when a bun is not substantial enough and disintegrates in your hands and this did not do that. Overall this burger was darn tasty. The tater tots were a nice addition that you can’t order just anywhere. They were cook perfectly crisp, not to oily.

I really like this place. This is quintessential American fast food from back in the days when it didn’t have such a negative connotation. This is what that national chain place (I’m not even going to mention names) tries so hard to be. If you need to be flung back to a simpler time when going to grab a burger was a treat and something a bit special this is where to head. If you’re anywhere near Keller’s be sure to drive on up, park and wait for a Hop to come your way. She’ll quickly bring you out a nice tray full of tasty treats.

Special No. 5 with Grilled Onions

Special No. 5 with Grilled Onions

Tater Tots

Tater Tots

Burger & Tots

Burger & Tots

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/kellers-drive-in-dallas
www.dallas.citysearch.com/profile/9620189/dallas_tx/keller_s_drive_in.html
www.tripadvisor.com/Reviews-Keller_s_Drive_in-Dallas_Texas.html

Sep 5, 2009 @ 12:00


Responses

  1. I love seeing signature menu items that pique my interest. Where did the other numbered items go? What were they? Did they nearly kill someone or have they been retired for being so good?

  2. Haha, all good questions. I wish I knew the origins. I actually just called them and asked…

    Me – “Hey, I have a really stupid but honest question.”

    Keller’s – “…okay…”

    Me – “You have a #5 and a #8, right?”

    Keller’s – “Yeah.”

    Me – “Do you have any other numbers?”

    Keller’s – “No.”

    Me – “Do you know what happened to numbers 1-4 and 6?”

    Keller’s – “No I don’t…..would you like to order something?”

    Me – “No that’s it, thank you.”

    That actually just happened🙂

  3. If you are still in the area, I would highly recommend a burger at Kincaids. I think they have the best burger in North Texas. http://www.kincaidshamburgers.com/

    For the best chicken fried steak in North Texas, visit Babe’s Chicken. http://www.babeschicken.com/

    If you are ever in Abilene and want to try the world’s best BBQ and potato salad, try Sharon’s BBQ. http://www.sharonsbarbeque.com/

    • Those are all great suggestions. I’ve heard great things about Kincaid’s and I’ll check into the others. Thanks!

  4. You also might check out Airways in Arlington, they have an indoor charcoal grill which makes the burgers taste fantastic. If you happen to be in Garland and like Italian food. Sicilano’s A Taste of Italy has been a favorite of mine for 25 years or so. The BEST garlic knots you have ever had, you will not be sorry.

  5. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me
    of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this.
    I am going to send this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a
    good read. I appreciate you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

