Posted by: Eating The Road | November 23, 2009

Cattlemen’s Steakhouse

Cattlemen’s Steakhouse
Address: 1309 S Agnew Ave Oklahoma City, OK 73108
Phone: (405) 236-0416
Website: www.cattlemensrestaurant.com
Known For: Steaks
What I had: Breakfast Burrito, Biscuits & Gravy, Hashbrowns and Coffee
Price: $8.62
Rating: 6 out of 10

I had to stop at Cattleman’s, it’s in the Stockyard area of Oklahoma City and has great prestige and lore. Unfortunately that lore is more for their steaks than anything but I figured I needed to at least pay homage. Although I did not, you can order most of their steaks with breakfast. One of the dishes that they serve is calf brains which I actually almost ordered. As you can see I did not, I got the breakfast burrito (sausage, egg & cheese), with hashbrowns and biscuits & gravy.

The breakfast burrito was fine, nothing special, same goes for the salsa served with it, it was just Pace Picante. This could have been whipped up in any dinner and at any breakfast table. It was just scrambled eggs, some cheese and a small amount of sausage. The hashbrowns were good except I asked for them extra crispy which they were not and they tasted as if they were cooked in a half stick of butter (but I guess that’s Texas for you). If you like buttered potatoes than you’d appreciate their hashbrowns.

The biscuits and gravy were okay, again nothing special. It seems like they do this same breakfast day after day and it’s just boring to them. There is nothing special or nothing that stands out. If you want a cheap dependable breakfast this will certainly suffice.

The staff was friendly and attentive. The place was really clean. There were a few families and several locals. Sorry for the boring review but I should have come for a steak. I would skip breakfast here but I’m thinking their dinners are probably worth it only because I’ve heard so much about them.

Breakfast Burrito & Hashbrowns

Breakfast Burrito & Hashbrowns

Biscuits & Gravy

Biscuits & Gravy

Featured on Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives:

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/160/cattlemens
www.yelp.com/biz/cattlemens-steak-house-oklahoma-city

Sep 5, 2009 @ 6:00


Leave a Reply

Categories

