Posted by: Eating The Road | November 22, 2009

Upscale Manhattan McDonald’s

I’m sure most of you have heard about the recently renovated McDonald’s in midtown Manhattan. It is said to be designed in a “European-style” and has free wifi access along with seating and outlets for laptop users.They’ve got a number of large flat-screens throughout playing BBC America (trying to be worldly).

It’s a two story, 186-seat McDonald’s that looks what you might expect if Google decided to have one on their campus. It’s actually a pretty impressive space and almost worth a trip to see it for yourself. It is extremely clean and oddly enough I didn’t find it too garish. I’m not sure if I’d find myself doing any work on my netbook there but I could imagine more than a few WOW players plugging in. Here are some pictures I took this weekend of it:

McDonald's Exterior

McDonald's Exterior

Ordering Counter

Ordering Counter

McDonald's Lobby

McDonald's Lobby

Staircase

Staircase

Upstairs Seating

Upstairs Seating

Chairs & Table

Chairs & Table

Laptop Stations

Laptop Stations

There are a few McDonald’s in midtown so if you’re looking for it, it’s located on 6th Avenue between 14th & 15th Streets. This particular location is owned by Paul Hendel. I believe he has a few more nearby. Unfortunately for McDonald’s you can renovate your locations all you want but the fact is the menu remains the same…I do however fully endorse and recommend Egg McMuffins and McGriddles!


Responses

  1. This is what many of the McDonald’s look like through Europe. A little fancier – still the same food though!

  2. Well I am a WoW player… and I do love me some McDonalds… Don’t live in New York but it would be nice to go play to the stereotype if I did.

    Just kidding. Using a laptop with greasy hands is a big problem for me.

    • By problem, I meant “big no-no” as in, don’t use a laptop with greasy fingers. That is bad.

  3. A lot, if not all of the McDonald’s here in Singapore have in the past year been renovated to this style too, the atmosphere is definitely different.

  4. I’m in the UK and this is what all the McDonalds look like.


Leave a Reply

Categories

