Posted by: Eating The Road | November 18, 2009

Ye Old Pancake Station

Ye Old Pancake Station
Address: 2800 Virginia Cir # A, Amarillo, TX 79109
Phone: (806) 355-0211
Website: N/A
Known For: Breakfast
What I had: 2 Eggs (Overeasy), 2 Biscuits & Gravy, 2 Sausage Patties & 2 Pancakes
Price: $7.52
Rating: 8.5 out of 10

With all honestly the reason Denny’s, IHOP, Cracker Barrel, etc. are so popular is because they actually serve a fairly decent meal at a good price. Well this place is like those but if it was cooked at home. It was delicious. I know that’s a weird description but the food reminded me of those generic meals that you can count on but with a down-home authentic style. Here, I know, this is the place that those chains model their food off of.

I got a breakfast special of 2 eggs overeasy, that were just what you’d expect, 2 sausage patties that were great (maybe just a tad over cooked), 2 pancakes that were nice and fluffy and 2 biscuits with gravy, the highlight of the meal. The biscuits were some of the best I’ve ever had and the gravy was fantastic. I used one of the biscuits as a bun for an egg, sausage, gravy sandwich and that was to die for. Seriously those biscuits were heavenly, you could tell someone (mom?) was up at 4 am cooking those.

The staff here was fantastic, they were all older ladies that you would think waited at a diner even if you saw them on the street. This breakfast made me want to be a Texan. It was cheap, huge and delicious. What a good way to start the day. They have a whole bunch of ways to get your pancakes and the one I almost ordered was the peanut butter chocolate chip, sadly I didn’t, the waitress said it tasted like a big Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. I’m actually in love with this place and I would certainly go out of my way to go back. There’s no question why they won the 2009 award for Amarillo’s Best Breakfast.

Eggs & Sausage

Eggs & Sausage

Pancakes

Pancakes

Biscuits & Gravy

Biscuits & Gravy

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/ye-olde-pancake-station-amarillo
www.urbanspoon.com/Ye-Olde-Pancake-Station-Amarillo
www.mrbreakfast.com/r_display.asp?restid=5389

Sep 4, 2009 @ 6:00


Responses

  1. Reading that review made me proud TO be a Texan.🙂 I hope I pass through there one day because I will definitely be stopping in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

