Posted by: Eating The Road | November 13, 2009

Pantry Restaurant

Pantry Restaurant
Address: 1820 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: (505) 986-0022
Website: www.pantrysantafe.com
Known For: Breakfast
What I had: Breakfast Special (1 Egg Overeasy, 2 Strips of Bacon, Homestyle Potatoes & Slice of Rye) & Buckwheat Pancake.
Price: $8.62
Rating: 7.5 out of 10
75plates

You really can’t get much cheaper than $3.99 for 1 egg, 2 strips of thick bacon, a good amount of potatoes and a slice of bread. I really didn’t need to get the buckwheat pancake but that was before I saw the portions…and I’m a sucker for pancakes especially when they’re something other than the usual.

I was very pleased with my meal. The egg was just as you’d expect, not too greasy and the yolk oozed out nicely. The bacon was delicious and thick. You could actually smell it cooking from the parking lot, an excellent way to start a morning.

The potatoes were great as well, again not too greasy and crisped just right for me. The pancake wasn’t anything special but I think I probably should have gotten just a buttermilk rather than the buckwheat, it’s texture was just different, not bad. The only thing that didn’t stand up was my slice of rye. Obviously they just bought it at the super market, it was the worst piece of rye I’ve ever had and I hate that because I oh so love rye bread.

The staff was amazingly attentive, friendly, accommodating and helpful. The place was very clean. There were a few locals that were greeted by name. I really enjoyed my breakfast here, it was very “down home” and comforting. You can’t beat the price of the special and the food was certainly up to par. Just don’t expect to get blown away by anything here.

Breakfast Special

Breakfast Special

Buckwheat Pancake

Buckwheat Pancake

A Pantry Restaurant commercial (with a great soundtrack!)

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/the-pantry-cafe-santa-fe
www.tripadvisor.com/Pantry_Restaurant-Santa_Fe_New_Mexico.html

Sep 3, 2009 @ 6:30


Responses

  1. Nice review! I’m always amazed at how crowded this restaurant gets on weekends. There are better breakfast restaurants in town.

  2. I used to eat their all the time. I love this place. It is great. I spent half my life in Santa Fe. http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  3. When I lived in Santa Fe this was one of my favorite breakfast places. I still miss the corned beef with one egg and green chile on the side. And the fresh tortillas! Yum!


Leave a Reply

Categories

