Posted by: Eating The Road | October 22, 2009

The Cottage

The Cottage
Address: 7702 Fay Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037
Phone: (858) 454-8409‎
Website: www.cottagelajolla.com
Known For: Granola & Burgers
What I had: Freshmade Granola with Banana & Milk
Price: $8.65
Rating: 7 out of 10
7plates

I am huge fan of granola (also trail mix) and seeing that they’re known for their fresh homemade granola I knew I had to try this place. It’s a very quaint peaceful spot with a nice patio as well as indoor seating. It’s gorgeous decorated and probably the quintessential Sunday morning brunch scene…it could easily be the setting for a meal in any romantic comedy.

They serve a variety of soups, salads, burgers, fish and tacos for lunch & dinner. Their breakfast menu has a wide selection of omelets and egg dishes as well as a huge array of Eggs Benedicts. They’ve also French toast, pancakes and pastries. The oatmeal pancake looks especially delicious but I came for one thing, the granola.  The bowl comes with fresh fruit (bananas, strawberries and kiwis, but I asked for only bananas) and your choice of milk or yogurt (I got milk).

The granola was very tasty and had baked pecans in it, which I love. Seeing that they are known for the granola I would have thought it to be exceptional and it didn’t quite live up to that for me, it was certainly good though. My only problem was that at close to $9 it was a small bowl and really not anything I couldn’t find at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s for a 1/3 of the price.

Overall it was a fun environment but I would just ask that they offer a bit more or lower the price slightly. The staff was great and the place was extremely clean. This would be a great place to impress a date…but if you’re coming for breakfast I’ll assume you already did that.

Cottage Patio

Cottage Patio

Homemade Granola

Homemade Granola

Granola, Bananas & Milk

Granola, Bananas & Milk

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/92/the-cottage
www.yelp.com/biz/the-cottage-la-jolla

Aug 28, 2009 @ 7:23


Responses

  1. I am really thankful to the author of this post for making this lovely and informative article live here for us. We really appreciate ur effort. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

