Posted by: Eating The Road | October 18, 2009

Fuddruckers

Fuddruckers
Address: 221 North San Fernando Blvd, Burbank, CA 91502
Phone: (818) 848-4856‎
Website: www.fuddruckers.com
Known For: American Fare
What I had: Fish & Chips (Wedge Fries & Sweet Potato Fries)
Price: $8.95
Rating: 8 out of 10
8plates

Rightly or wrongly so I have an aversion to the “Big Guys” out there, the Applebee’s, Chili’s, Red Lobsters, etc. Whether or not this is justified is to be seen. I guess I feel like there food is generic and there is the added “love” tossed in that you’ll find in smaller “Mom & Pop” places. I can however see why they’ve succeed and gotten to the point they’re at…there food is typically good, service normally friendly and quick and prices are usually reasonable.

I know there are tons of these spread across our great states but I had never actually eaten in one myself. I also know that they’re probably known more for their burgers than anything but I opted for the fish & chips. I am glad I did too, it was phenomenal, and I say that I guess with expectations extremely low. I would never have thought I would get something that tasted that great from a chain restaurant.

The meal I had was certainly worth my dollar. The fish was terrific and not overly cooked. It sort of bewilders me how they’re able to get good food out from their kitchens arcoss the nation on a consistant basis from high turnover staff. I’m sure they’ve got it all down to a system. The batter was perfect, it melted in my mouth. The tarter sauce was slightly bland but using the malt vinegar was better for this classic dish anyways.

The have wedge fries and sweet potato fries. I wanted to try the sweet potato but wasn’t sure if I’d actually enjoy them all that much. I asked the gal if she’d give me a half order of both and she said she’d see what she could do. Sure enough she did…lucky for me, the sweet potato fries were awesome. The wedge fries were good too but those sweet potato ones were something else.

They also have a full condiment bar with crisp iceburg, red onions, white onions, pickles, relish, salsa, etc. On top of that they have a sauce bar with ketchup, mustard, honey mustard, spicy mustard, cheese sauce, jalapeno cheese sauce and BBQ sauce. All the items were nice and fresh and the area was clean.

I was pleasantly surprised by the place especially since its a chain. I would surely go back there again…and I may have to rethink my reluctance to eat at larger restaurants.

Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/fuddruckers-inc-burbank

Aug 25, 2009 @ 18:18


Responses

  1. I’ve only had burgers at Fuddrucker’s, and they are really good. Next time I’m at one, I’m going to have to try the fish and chips. That photo is irresistible!

  2. Hehe, thanks. I was certainly surprised by their quality.


Leave a Reply

Categories

