Posted by: Eating The Road | December 17, 2009

Domilise’s Sandwich Shop & Bar

Domilise’s Sandwich Shop & Bar
Address: 5240 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 899-9126
Website: N/A
Known For: Sandwiches
What I had: Large 1/2 Shrimp 1/2 Oyster Po’ Boy
Price: $14
Rating: 6 out of 10

What an odd little shop. First off it is way off the beaten path and amongst a bunch of rundown homes. If you blink you’ll pretty much drive right by it. To add to that the signage is extremely minimal.  Ordering here is just as strange. I walked in and there were actually quite a few patrons but not overly packed. The weird thing is that is was dead quiet. On top of that I stood there for a few minutes before anyone helped me yet there were several workers standing there.

The lady behind the counter asked me in a rather rude manner what I wanted. I hadn’t seen a menu or wasn’t asked if I’d like to sit down. She pointed to a wall (behind me) that had all their sandwich options, there were roughly 15 choices. I knew I wanted an oyster or shrimp Po’ Boy but they had a half/half option so obviously I went with that. The price…$14 for the large and $9 for the small. She showed me the size, 5 inches is a small and 10 inches is the large. Does it come with any fries or chips?….nope.

Well, I guess I’ll go ahead and get the large half & half I told her. She asked how I wanted it and reluctantly ran through my options. I got everything (ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, lettuce) except pickles, also their creole mustard (with Horseradish). I asked her for a water and she just pointed me towards someone else. She really didn’t want me around and acted like I was such a nuisance.

The sandwich itself was pretty good. The bread was a bit stale but apparently this is how Po’ Boys are authentically. Not really my thing but if that’s how they’re supposed to be that’s how it was. The shrimp and the oysters were phenomenal and certainly saved this from being a total disaster. Really the sandwich was good but considering I paid $14 for a pretty small meal I wasn’t blown away. I now there are many many small sandwich shops in the New Orleans area that are doing a really good Po’ Boy for half the price.

On top of that the lady didn’t even want me there (the barkeep was very friendly though). I would say if you’ve got money to burn and time to burn try it out but I would rather venture out and try to find another “hole-in-the-wall”. Apparently the Manning brothers, having grown up in New Orleans, are fans of Domilise’s…I was regaled by stories of them ordering sacks full of Po’ Boys. I guess for that alone you ought to give it a try. For a very good look at this place visit Off the Broiler’s post on it.

1/2 Shrimp 1/2 Oyster Po Boy

1/2 Shrimp 1/2 Oyster Po' Boy

At 4:40 mark Domilise’s Sandwich Shop

Further reading:
www.roadfood.com/Reviews/Overview.aspx?RefID=141
www.yelp.com/biz/domilise-sandwich-shop-and-bar-new-orleans

Sep 9, 2009 @ 12:10

Responses

  1. Are you out of your mind? I defy you to find a better po boy in NoLA!

  2. I think you are insane. What do you want them to do? walk you through their entire store holding your hand saying, here’s the only bathroom without a sink in it, here’s the sink outside that bathroom to wash your hands, there’s the bar over there for drinks, and there’s the menu and this counter with the cash register is where you order and pay, can we do anything else to make you feel like an outsider? Seriously. This place is by far the best place for a Po Boy in new orleans. And it is about the food, not about the service or anything cause i hardly get good service in New Orleans no matter where i go. Marigny Brasserie, Napoleon House, nothing is ever good service. And if you did research before going in you wouldn’t have had such an issue with your ordering or anything. If you are an outsider like I was and act like one, you will get that treatment you speak of. Not like a lot of tourists know about Dom’s. And they don’t need tourists money, because even the locals know what the best place is to get a po boy. And next time you write a blog do some spell check.

    • @ Kyle: I can see why it’s hard for you to get good service anywhere, you’re a very rude person. Think about it, was your comment really called for? “And next time you write a blog do some spell check.” I find this hilarious coming from someone who cannot follow even the simplest grammar and punctuation rules.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

