Posted by: Eating The Road | November 16, 2009

Coyote Bluff Cafe

Coyote Bluff Cafe
Address: 2417 S Grand St, Amarillo, TX 79103
Phone: (806) 373-4640
Website: www.coyotebluffcafe.com
Known For: Burger from Hell
What I had: Burger from Hell & French Fries
Price: $7.08
Rating: 9 out of 10
9plates

I heard about this place from watching Adam Richman on Travel Channel’s very first episode of Man v. Food. I tend to not believe the excitement and hype that shows like this (and others with spiky-hair hosts) bring to places. It’s a bit unfair because obviously they were doing something right to get the attention of the TV networks in the first place. I’m always skeptical though because there is no way that the host enjoys everything that they eat so much…I mean, come on. Every once and awhile I would love to see the guy just shake his head and try his hardest to swallow without showing disappointment but I understand the fairytale that is TV.

Okay, getting over my little rant there. The Coyote Bluff Cafe lived up too all the hype. I loved this place. I was a little hesitant to order the Burger from Hell (with jalapenos, onions and chipotle hot sauce) because I thought all of the toppings and sauces would distract from the burger but man was I wrong. You could taste the quality and juiciness of the beef despite all the wonderful “hell” accompaniments. The 8 ounce burger was cooked to perfection and seasoned wonderfully. The burger was not too spicy as I also feared may be the case. The grilled onions and jalapenos were a fantastic addition and the chipotle hot sauce added the perfect amount of kick.

You also get your choice of white, wheat or onion bun. I opted for the onion bun and loved it, it was very soft and complemented the burger perfectly. The tomatoes and lettuce were very fresh. The french fries (not included but only $1.29 with a burger) were very good. They were freshly cut, thin strips of delicious deep-fried potato that were similar to a fry you’d get from In-N-Out Burger.

Next time I would probably order just a cheeseburger because the Burger from Hell has such a distinct flavor that it’s hard to judge it against other burgers. I have a feeling that Coyote Bluff’s is one of the better burgers out there. Also, any place that has 3+ hot sauces and a roll of paper towels on the table is alright in my book.

I really like the restaurant in general too. The staff was incredible and the atmosphere is terrific. You can tell the locals love coming here and enjoy themselves. There are a lot of fun things to look at on the walls. The tables and chairs are true Texan style (big wood benches). You must use the restroom too, there’s a huge water heater filling most of it and it’s a challenge just to use the toilet, it’s actually charming in a way. If you’re within a short flight from Amarillo it’s worth it to hop on a plane and head over here for a fantastic lunch.

Burger from Hell

Burger from Hell

Burger Closeup

Burger Closeup

French Fries

French Fries

As featured on Man v. Food

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/coyote-bluff-cafe-amarillo-2
www.tripadvisor.com/Reviews-Coyote_Bluff_Cafe-Amarillo_Texas.html

Sep 3, 2009 @ 12:00

Responses

  1. “they were doing something right to get the attention of the TV networks in the first place”

    I was told that restaurant owners apply to be rated on these shows. At least on DD&D’s

    Kind of like having a star on Hollywood Bl. It’s not an automatic even if you are the absolute best.

    This place sounds great. Too bad my stop was at the truck stop when driving through Amarillo.

    • I would love to know the process they have to go through. I’ve talked to some of the owners and they do several phone interviews prior to them coming out.

      Too bad…you’ll have to try it if you go through again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

