Posted by: Eating The Road | November 10, 2009

Harry’s Roadhouse

Harry’s Roadhouse
Address: 96B Old Las Vegas Highway, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-989-4629
Website: N/A
Known For: Breakfast
What I had: Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Bananas, Homestyle Potatoes & Coffee
Price: $11.22
Rating: 8.5 out of 10
85plates

This place is located outside of town along Old Las Vegas Highway. It’s a bit out of the way but that makes it all the more charming and peaceful. It was a fantastic spot early in the morning with the sun coming up and it being a pleasant 65 degrees out.

They have several dining areas and they’ll let you choose where you’d like to sit. I chose the front room near a window, which had a nice breeze coming in. The staff here were fantastic, friendly and very accommodating.

They have all of your New Mexican breakfast staples (Huevos Rancheros, Chile Omelets, etc) but I decided to get the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, how could I resist Ricotta pancakes. I’m a huge sucker for pancakes and especially varieties that don’t pop up on every menu. They come with strawberries but I asked if I could substitute bananas and this was no problem. It was early in the morning and so I assume the kitchen had to get up and running because it did take a small wait to get my meal but nothing that I couldn’t bear.

The Lemon Ricotta Pancake was delicious. The Ricotta made them a little more dense than an average pancake but this was a pleasant change, they were still fluffy. They were cooked absolutely perfectly. The hint of lemon mixed with the fresh bananas was superb. The potatoes were very good too. Again, cooked perfectly, not too greasy and extremely fresh. If I didn’t know better I would guess most of the ingredients were hand picked out in the back just before I arrived.

This is a very nice, quaint place to start your day. If you’re in the Santa Fe area be sure to grab a breakfast here. They also serve a mean lunch and dinner from what I hear. I’ve been told to try the buffalo burger, the grilled cheese (which uses grilled onions & honey mustard), their BBQ and apparently they have an amazing chocolate peanut butter ice cream sandwich. Man…now I need to go back here…again and again and again. They’ve also got a cookbook so you can make some of their delicious foods if you can’t get it all the way out to the restaurant.

Harrys Roadhouse Bar Seating

Harry's Roadhouse Bar Seating

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Bananas

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Bananas

Homestyle Potatoes

Homestyle Potatoes

Harry’s Roadhouse Strawberry-Lemon Ricotta Cakes

Prep time: 20 minutes
Turnout time: 5 to 10 minutes
Feeds: 4

Ingredients
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup whole-milk ricotta
1 1/2 cups milk
2 eggs, separated
Zest of 2 lemons
Powdered sugar to garnish
Butter for spreading
1 pint strawberries, sliced
Maple syrup

Preparation
Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In another bowl, whisk together melted butter, ricotta, milk, egg yolks, and lemon zest. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients

Meanwhile, beat egg whites until they hold a soft peak. Fold them into the batter. Do not overmix the batter or your pancakes will be tough. Mix until the ingredients are just barely combined.

Heat a cast-iron pan on high, then reduce heat to a medium-high. Put 2 tablespoons of butter into the hot pan and melt it, coating the pan. Ladle the pancake batter into the pan, about 1/4 cup for each cake. Resist flipping the cakes until bubbles form on the top. Flip the cakes and cook 1 to 1 1/2 minutes more until pancakes are set.

These cakes may take a little extra time to cook. Test one to make sure it is cooked through before removing from pan. Dust the finished cakes with powdered sugar and serve with butter, sliced strawberries, and maple syrup.

Further reading:
www.yelp.com/biz/harrys-roadhouse-santa-fe
www.roadfood.com/Restaurant/Reviews/4880/harrys-roadhouse
www.santafenm.citysearch.com/harry_s_roadhouse.html
www.nmgastronome.com

Sep 2, 2009 @ 7:00

Responses

  1. http://virtualglobetrotting.com/map/harrys-roadhouse/

  2. Hey, this is a great review with lovely photos! We’ve only been to Harry’s for lunch and will certainly need to go there for breakfast on our next trip up to Santa Fe.

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m glad to find out about this website and am putting a link to it on my sidebar.

    Cheers!

  3. Harry’s Roadhouse is yet another one of those unique Santa Fe institutions–a marvel of beauty like our sunsets and mountains. Kudos on another great review.

  4. Oooh, lemon ricotta pancakes! I’ve loved those ever since being introduced to them at Sarabeth’s in New York several years ago.

  5. Thanks for the comments guys and thanks for stopping by the blog. I wish I lived in Santa Fe…I’d probably eat at Harry’s at least once a day :)

  6. I remember that quilt on the wall, it makes me want to buy it again, but, it’s 800.00 and I’m a quilter, so maybe someday, I’ll make my own original version of Our Lady…smile

    • I love that quilt. I’d buy your’s if you did one :)

  7. Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this web site to get newest updates, thus where can i do it please
    help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

